Skip to main content

Guidance to your child’s learning and development

What to expect, when? A parents guide is a booklet that has been designed to help parents/carers find out more about how their child is learning and developing during their first five years. Children develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives than at any other time.

This booklet has been written to help parents know what to expect during these vitally important years by focusing on the seven areas of learning and development which are covered in the EYFS.

The 7 key areas of learning are:

Prime areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The booklet is also divided up conveniently into 6 age ranges so it is easy to follow:

Age ranges

  • Birth to 11 month
  • 8 to 20 months
  • 16 to 26 months
  • 22 to 36 months
  • 30 to 50 months
  • 40 to 60 months

To find out more simply download your free copy of the guide using the below link.

Download a free copy of the What to expect, when? guide

Need more advice ?

rating button